Observation Log 2/14/08: ISS/Shuttle flyover

211450main_iss016e028403_thum.jpgAs I wrote last week, the docked ISS and Shuttle Atlantis have an impressive list of flyovers for New England this week. Tonight was the first clear night all week, so I was hopeful. I even called my Dad at the moment the show was starting, and he saw it. I called my wife, who I was en route to pick up at the train station, and she probably saw it. But I didn’t! Even with my sunroof open, and the GPS on so I knew where true North was, I missed it somehow. I was on the highway, so I really couldn’t spare a lot of time glancing at the sky.

Friday night will be an even better flyover, higher and brighter. And I don’t have to drive anywhere!

Explore posts in the same categories: Astronomy, My Astronomy Log

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Observation Log 2/14/08: ISS/Shuttle flyover”

  1. Mike Says:

    –>>
    I was on the highway, so I really couldn’t spare a lot of time glancing at the sky.
    –>>
    Me too! I took Route 3 North on my commute home instead of the back roads in hope of seeing it.

    –>>
    I missed it somehow
    –>>
    Me too (no exclamation point).

  2. Sam Says:

    I saw it this morning in Birmingham, AL. It was an impressive site, flying at 84 degrees (90 degrees is straight up), from the NW to SE.


Leave a Reply

