Lance Armstrong: “I am a fan and supporter of Floyd Landis. I believe in him.” (Me, too.)

Lance has given his friend a bit of public advice: don’t count on the media for fair coverage. Lay low, and wait for your time.

It is, in my opinion, high hypocrisy that the organizations charged with keeping cycling clean have broken their own policies to make themselves look good, at the expense of riders past and present. I’ve written about this copiously in the last few weeks. I can’t say it any simpler than this: I don’t believe Floyd Landis has a dishonest bone in his body. And I don’t have faith in people like Dick Pound, who have wasted efforts trying to prove Lance Armstrong was a cheat, even though he never failed a test.

As I’ve said here, a failed drug or blood doping test sometimes catches a real cheater. Other times, it merely finds an anomalous but completely legal situation, such as with Santiago Botero, whose body naturally produces enough testosterone to routinely fail that test.

All I know is, my heart tells me Floyd is an honest man. I do hope that time and a (hopefully) fair appeals process will clear his name. And, though this is wildly optimistic on my part, I hope it “cleans up cycling” in an unexpected way: that it sweeps out the individuals in the regulatory bodies who break their own rules for whatever personal reasons they have dreamt up.

Explore posts in the same categories: Bicycling, Bicycling- A Fan's View, Steve's Peeves

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Lance Armstrong: “I am a fan and supporter of Floyd Landis. I believe in him.” (Me, too.)”


  1. […] 1, 2006 – The sad Landis saga, and other doping casualties, continued Sun – August 13, 2006 – Lance Armstrong: “I am a fan and supporter of Floyd Landis. I believe in him.” (Me, too…. Thu – August 17, 2006 – Floyd Landis’ father-in-law commits suicide Sun – September 10, 2006 […]


Leave a Reply

