Observation Log 4/20/06: Comet Schwassman-Wachman (73P)

Comet Schwassman-Wachman (73P) It’s up there, but if I didn’t already know where to look with my Oberwerk 11×70 binoculars… forget it.

According to this Sky and Telescope article, I was seeing Fragment C. Admittedly my eyes weren’t well dark-adapted, having been inside the house to get my binocular setup, but still, it was just a faint fuzzy barely visible with averted vision. I wasn’t even positive I’d seen anything until I came back indoors and compared what I’d seen with the context offered by Starry Night. Even so, the comet won’t be up for much longer, so I’m glad I grabbed a few photons!

Explore posts in the same categories: My Astronomy Log

One Comment on “Observation Log 4/20/06: Comet Schwassman-Wachman (73P)”


  1. […] Log 4/30/06: Comet Schwassman-Wachman (73P) My first look was a bit of a disappointment, since my binoculars just didn’t collect enough light. So, […]


Leave a Reply

