Observation Log 2/17/06: Watched Spica occultation, Found both Perseus’ Double Clusters, more!

Moon occults Spica Great night! I had to get up on the roof to see Spica peek out from behind the Moon. While I was up there, I looked around a bit…



Perseus Double Clusters Since I’d already moved my gear up the ladder to the rooftop, and the seeing was pretty darn good, I figured I’d look around a bit. I managed to relocate Kemble’s Cascade, which I couldn’t do last time out. I kept looking around with the Oberwerk 11×70 binoculars on a tripod, and happened onto the two Perseus double clusters (NGC 869 and 884). I also came across the big bunch of stars around Mirfak, again in Perseus. Definitely a good night. Tomorrow is supposed to be excellent viewing.

Explore posts in the same categories: My Astronomy Log

Leave a Reply

