Observation Log 2/14/06: Found Christmas Tree Cluster

Christmas Tree Cluster Today is Valentine’s Day, so there wasn’t a lot of time to observe. But the skies were relatively clear, and I had a good look at that piece of sky. I got out the binoculars and the tripod, and had about 25 minutes to make the sighting. Once I found 15 Mon, it was almost too high in the sky for my setup. But, I found it. On to the next target.

I had a harder time finding it than I thought I would, mainly because it was rotated about 30° compared to last time. I saw down to a bit better than 9th magnitude with the big Oberwerk 11×70 binoculars, even with the just-past-full Moon. Having looked carefully that the cluster in Starry Night, and having seen it in real life, I can’t help but wonder what possessed someone to call this a “cluster”!

Explore posts in the same categories: My Astronomy Log

Leave a Reply

