Observation Log 2/4/06: Kemble’s Cascade, the final chapter

Later the same night, I picked up the last few dim stars with the bigger binoculars.

As I said in my last entry, I really wanted to take the Oberwerk 11×70 binoculars out and see if I could spot the remaining dim stars in the Cascade. Well, I couldn’t wait. I just got in after 30 more minutes outside with the bigger binoculars, and yes, there they were. Nice.

I’m finding new respect for those Oberwerk 11×70 binoculars. I had written that, counter-intuitively, the Canon 10×30 Image Stabilizing binoculars seemed to show me just as many stars. At that point, I hadn’t spent much time with the Oberwerks on a tripod. Now I only use the Oberwerks on a (really cheap) tripod, and they do pull in the dimmer stars. The whole field is smaller and dimmer, with the Oberwerks, but I like them a lot more now. They (and my astronomy chair) are my first choice for a quick trip outside.

Explore posts in the same categories: Astronomy Gear, My Astronomy Log

Leave a Reply

