Observation Log 2/3/06: Got Kemble’s Cascade!

Kemble's Cascade Yeah, finally!

It was rainy all day, and foggy after that. I really didn’t expect anything tonight, but luck was on my side. I went out around 9:30PM, and saw stars, so I grabbed the Canon 10×30 Image Stabilizing binoculars and spent about 45 minutes searching for Kemble’s Cascade.

This time I knew the trick of doubling the distance from the ends of Cassiopeia’s ‘W’ to find the region and orientation of the Cascade. This time I knew it would fit in one field of view (D’oh!). And after spending a few hours trying to create an asterism file for Starry Night to show the Cascade, I knew the shapes and triangles at the ends, and what to look for. There doesn’t seem to be a definitive guide as to which stars actually belong and which don’t, unfortunately. But I got the general idea.

The upper sky was hazy, and light pollution was worse than usual. Plus, being a Friday night, there were a lot of cars going by, shining their lights in my eyes. Seeing was poor. I spent most of the time outside just trying to pick out more stars with averted vision, but I wasn’t seeing anything dimmer than about magnitude 8.5, and at that with time and effort.

Anyway, I finally found it, and it now I can find it pretty easily. I’m going to try the Oberwerks binoculars next time, to try and tease out more of the dimmer stars.

Yay!

Explore posts in the same categories: My Astronomy Log

One Comment on “Observation Log 2/3/06: Got Kemble’s Cascade!”


  1. […] binoculars and got outside for a half hour. I saw the Beehive Cluster, the Perseus Double Cluster, Kemble’s Cascade, Saturn, and… Mars… but why is it so far […]


Leave a Reply

