Observation Log 12/10/05: My search for M1, the Crab Nebula

The last few nights have been very cold, but I’ve been trying to spot M1. No luck yet!

I got a gift of the book, The Messier Objects a while ago, and so I’ve been trying to widen my range a bit. The book starts with M1, so I’ve been at it for the last few nights. I can find Zeta Tauri without trouble, and the keystone of stars that includes Zeta Tau, but between clouds, lousy seeing, cold, and the moon, I haven’t spotted M1, either with the Canon 10×30 Image Stabilizing binoculars or the Oberwerk 11×70 binoculars. I hope it’s just a matter of learning to look better, rather than having to lug out the Celestron NexStar 8i telescope on these cold nights.

Explore posts in the same categories: My Astronomy Log

Leave a Reply

