Observation Log 1/3/05

A treat for the new year: Comet Machholz with two naked eyes!

I’ve been following Comet Machholz with binoculars for the last week, but tonight on a whim I found it easily with just my own two eyes. The sky was cloudless, which is unfortunately a rare event lately. The seeing was fairly good, but the skyglow was only fair. Even so, there she was, right in the middle of Taurus! I only spent a few minutes outside, so even without full dark adaptation it was pretty easy, at first with averted vision, and then directly. I only see a faint fuzzy, and no nucleus at all, though others with excellent dark sites have reported seeing the nucleus.

Explore posts in the same categories: My Astronomy Log

Leave a Reply

