2004- Ride #3: 28.6 miles, 69.1 miles total.

In which Steve starts to feel just a little of that old snap in his legs

Who can pass up a sunny, if a bit windy, 70° day? Not me. I increased my mileage a bit more this time out, and was pleasantly surprised that I felt a little more snap in my acceleration, particularly on moderate hills. My speed’s improving a bit. The Twin Towers were a bear today, and I set off the alarm on my heart rate monitor. I got up to 188 BPM on the first hill, even in great-granny gear. Climbing the second hill, I realized I’d spent all my reserves on the first. Thankfully it’s all downhill from there to my house, and by the time I got home my heart rate was back in the 140s. Definitely time for some Gatorade!

The outdoors was wonderful today. The smell of fresh cedar mulch, the first-quarter moon. I’m still scoping out sites with great ENE views for the upcoming Venus Transit. I may have found a beauty today.

And now for a new feature of my bicycling log: I call this segment Stoopid Stuff Stuck In My Head During The Ride. Frequently, I’m not the only passenger on my rides; usually a song, or more precisely a part of a song, comes along to keep my company. Usually it’s only one snippet, though it could be more. Or, it could be a sentence, or a phrase, whether from a famous speech, a comedy sketch, or something random and utterly nonsensical. The main idea is that Stoopid Stuff Stuck In My Head During The Ride repeats itself, over and over and over and over and over… And there’s not a damn thing I can do to stop it.

Today’s Stoopid Stuff Stuck In My Head During The Ride is Joe Jackson’s “Steppin’ Out”, (iTunes required for link), specifically the line: “We / Are young and getting old before our time…” Tied for second are the phrases “Steer with the butt,” (useful advice on recumbents while climbing hills at 4mph) and “Be the cleats,” (ditto, referring to feeling the force in my clipless pedals as I try to spin smoothly and evenly).

Early Summer Corn Field

Hey! Just for the heck of it, I stopped and took a picture of my favorite corn field. I only had a cell phone camera, so the resolution is lousy. You can’t tell you’re looking at almost a mile of field, and that the road curves around the field in the distance. There are even cars all along the road, though you can’t see them. As the corn grows I’ll bring a better camera. You might think, looking at this picture, that rides in Southern New Hampshire are all this flat. Au contraire, mon frére! This is just the bit along the Merrimack River, and it’s the low point on most of my rides. It’s about 10 miles from home, and I still have seven looong and/or steeep hills to climb before I’m done. It’s probably 2000 feet of climbing, and 1700 feet of descending in all.

Until the next good day…

Explore posts in the same categories: My Bicycling Log

Leave a Reply

