Observation Log 4/20/04

Mixed seeing, but a good night to bag a few more of Saturn’s moons.

7PM to 10PM. Though there was no moon tonight, there were patches of high-level cirrus clouds making halos around anything moderately bright. Even so, it was fun to see a 37% illuminated, crescent Venus. After a quick look at the four main Jovian moons, I spent an hour looking at Saturn, and seeing what some extended time at the eyepiece might reveal.

The good news is that I spotted several moons for the first time ever. I was using the Celestron NexStar 8i telescope and the Televue 17mm Nagler. I saw Tethys (mag 10.24), Rhea (mag 9.74), Dione (mag 10.44) and of course Titan (mag 8.36, not a first-timer). Try as I might, I couldn’t see Enceladus (mag 11.74) or Mimas (mag 12.94), which isn’t too surprising.

Explore posts in the same categories: My Astronomy Log

Leave a Reply

