Observation Log 4/6/04

First clear sky in a week, and it’s during the day. So, daytime Venus again.

It is fun to spot Venus around 3 to 4PM, when it’s above 70° altitude. It’s easy with binoculars, and once I had located it, I could easily see it with the naked eye. Interestingly, if I looked away, took a few steps (thus erasing my muscle memory), and then looked back up, I never found it again without resorting to the binos. This is strange, because I knew within ~5° where Venus should have been. After a fair bit of experimentation, I believe it’s because my eyes aren’t looking at the sale place in the blue, featureless sky when I’m scanning without the binos. Next time I’ll try scanning with only one eye, and see if that improves things.

I tried to spot Sirius or Saturn- no joy. The evening sky was fairly clear with some high, icy clouds, but I had a date already planned.

Explore posts in the same categories: My Astronomy Log

Leave a Reply

