2001- More setbacks: a back injury costs 6 weeks; I ride only 215 miles.

Only 16 rides during an abbreviated riding season

2001 was a bad year for many reasons. I extended my work rides to 11 miles and after 11 rides in one month I put my back out. I woke up one morning had could barely move. My chronic pain was flaring again, and it was hard to walk and get around. I only rode 5 more times after July, including a brutal 25 miles total at the Tri-State Seacoast Century. I recall it as some of the longest miles I’ve ever ridden. Perhaps I hadn’t fueled myself well that morning, or perhaps it was lack of training, but I was dying trying to finish what should have been a routine, highly enjoyable seacoast ride. I still hope to ride the full 100 miles again some day, but 2001 wasn’t going to be the year.

Explore posts in the same categories: My Bicycling Log

Leave a Reply

